Staff & Leadership

The IME is governed by a board of governors consisting of executive officers from the member firms. The board is responsible for the formulation of policy based on recommendations from IME's five standing committees. The implementation of policy and programs is directed by the Institute's president and executed by the staff with appropriate assistance and involvement of the membership.   

Officers of the Institute:

Chairman of the Board - Seth Hobby, Dyno Nobel Inc
Vice Chairman of the Board - James Barker, JRC/Halliburton
President - Debra Satkowiak, IME
Secretary and Treasurer - Sue Swanhorst, IME

Committee Chairs:

Environmental Affairs Committee (EA) - Doug Maggard, Orica USA
Government Affairs Committee (GAC) - Mitch Green, Maine Drilling & Blasting
Legal Affairs Committee (LAC) -- Jeffrey Droubay, Dyno Nobel Inc
Safety & Health Committee (S&H) - Nick Harrington, JRC/Halliburton
Security Committee (SEC)-  Terry Newton, Nelson Brothers
Technical Committee - (TECH) - Paul Sterk, Austin Powder Company
Transportation & Distribution Committee (T&D) - Jim Cole, Tread Corporation

The Washington office of the Institute is managed by a staff of dedicated and experienced professionals who you may contact directly with your questions about the commercial explosives industry or association business.

Judith Hammerschmidt - General Counsel
Deb Satkowiak - President
John BolingVice President, Government Affairs
Josh Hoffman - Director, Technical Services
Colby ShollerSenior Manager, Government Affairs
Susan FlanaganLegislative and Regulatory Counsel
Suzanne Swanhorst - Manager, HR & Finance 
Chyna Branch - Executive Administrative Assistant

IME Organizational Chart  Feb 2019