Complete Story


Five IME Member Companies Earn the Respected Tricia Appleton Award for Safety

Washington, DC – The prestigious Tricia Appleton Award is given each year by IME’s Safety and Health Committee to the member company with the best overall safety record for the previous year based on lowest Total Recordable Incident Rate (TRIR) rate, as reported to the Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA).  At the conclusion of the 2020 IME Annual Meeting, five member companies received the Tricia Appleton Award for outstanding achievement in safety.  Each of the companies listed below achieved a zero TRIR, based on 2019 data.

The Tricia Appleton Award for Safety is given in memory of a long-time employee of IME member company Jet Research Center/Halliburton who was influential in establishing IME’s annual award for excellence in safety just prior to her untimely death in 2002 in an automobile accident.  The year following Tricia’s death, and in all subsequent years, IME members have achieved a near 100% participation rate in the IME Injury & Illness Reporting Program – the very goal that Tricia had hoped the establishment of the safety award would accomplish.
IME also recognized the following member companies with a Certificate for Excellence in Safety for performing better than the annual average for the chemical manufacturing sector for the previous year:  Daicel Safety Systems Americas, Inc.; DynaEnergetics US, Inc.; Dyno Nobel, Inc.; GEODynamics, Inc.; Jet Research Center/Halliburton; Maine Drilling & Blasting; Orica USA; Owen Oil Tools; and Nelson Brothers, Inc.
IME Board Chairman Ralph Hymer stated, “It is a privilege to congratulate these IME member companies for their outstanding safety records.  Through these prestigious safety awards, we see firsthand  how the explosives industry embodies a culture of safety for our employees and the public.”

Printer-Friendly Version